IWSG – Insecure Writers Support Group!

wp-image-401223630

The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time – and return comments. This group is all about connecting!

This months question: What are your pet peeves when reading/writing/editing?

I found the post here.

I only have one pet peeve.

It’s a simple thing, yet gets me into trouble all the time. Oh! The trouble it has caused me!

My pet peeve is: When someone, or something, disagrees with me in any way.

Everyone should look, act, think, and feel like me!

Oh! Alright! I’ll be SERIOUS!

When I am reading, I generally get frustrated when the author seems to spend a lot of time describing the mundane. We all know what a door looks like, it doesn’t matter if it’s metal or oak, they still have the same basic dimensions and shape. Is it seriously necessary to spend five sentences describing a tree?!?

When I’m writing, I forget to type in a word because my fingers can’t keep up with my mind. Then, I have to stop my train of thought and go back to put it in. GRRRR!!!!!

When I’m editing, I hate it when the author forgets to add in the description of the place, thing, creature (Jen stop doing this!!!!). I have to sit and put myself into that section of the story (as if I’m writing) and write out the description.

I remember that I spent several hours on this one piece of writing. I wanted it to give a certain feel, to interest the reader, and to continue the story (as with all parts), but I wanted it to make the reader remember it after the story was finished. I had an idea for a story with this particular character in this particular place in mind and I wanted it to be remembered.

I printed several copies of just this section and attached a short survey to the back. Then, I asked some people to read it and answer the questions attached to the back.

The questions were yes/no, true/false, and multiple choice. I think there were ten.

When they were finished, I took them home and worked with the feedback on this section of my writing.

About a month and a half later, three of my friends asked me several questions about what happened after the section they had read. They were truly interested and couldn’t wait for me to finish the book. Four months later, the book was published and they bought copies to read.

THAT IS MY FAVORITE PART OF WRITING. These were people who didn’t read. They just simply didn’t find it interesting and reading fantasy was definitely NOT their style. Still, that one section had caught and held their attention until they couldn’t help but buy the book.

Keep writing. No matter what. You will, eventually, have a great writing memory to help you through the dark and terrible times.

Just keep chanting: This, too, shall pass. This, too, shall pass.

